Home » Quilts » Floral diamonds done

Floral diamonds done

img_7057

img_7058

A finished quilt to check off the to-do list!

It was actually done last week, but I was waiting to post in the hope of getting outside-in-the-sun pictures.  These early-dark and rainy days make photography even more challenging than it usually is for me.  I eventually gave up and photographed it indoors.

The top is made up of of diamonds cut from the scraps of a floral quilt I made my cousin a couple Christmases ago.  As is my habit lately, I pinned it in my sister’s classroom to take advantage of all the space and the indestructible tiled floors.

img_6822

It is my second diamond top, and I quilted it very similarly to the first, with verticle lines and shadow diamonds scattered in.

img_6880

I drew the lines with a vanishing pen – when I was done sewing I spritzed water to remove the blue lines, and any remnants were taken care of when I washed it.

img_6904

The binding was more scraps, machine sewn as usual for speed and durability.

img_6900

img_6905

This is never going to be my favorite quilt – I like the overall design, but question some of my color combo choices, but I have a couple potential recipients in mind for the holidays who would really like it, and it is more important that the person who gets it loves it than I do.

My son tested it out, blanket-wise, and says it definitely works.

img_7054

3 thoughts on “Floral diamonds done

  1. Very nice! Someone is going to love it to pieces and that is usually our reward, am I right? I like the florals with the neutrals and find that the neutrals separate the florals enough to keep them fighting. You know how prints are–they love attention! Congrats on the finish.

    Like

Leave a Reply

