Home » Knitting » Odds and ends

Odds and ends

I go through stages where I binge on books, to the point of neglecting a lot of the rest of my life.  As an adult, it tends to happen in times of stress.  Craft binging doesn’t have the same stress reduction effect – I can still think and sew or knit.  Reading is pure escape.

The last month or so has seen a lot of reading.  I’m not quite sure what the true stressor is – there seems to be a constant low level.  Trying to juggle work and home is part of it, and the election sure isn’t helping.  But it means that the WIPs have been gathering some dust.

A small amount has been accomplished.  I made a couple of trips to my sister’s classroom to use all the tiled floor space to pin three finished quilt tops.

I added some more rows to my Volt wrap. One and a half colors to go – so 24,495 more stitches.

image

And I filled a bobbin and a half with more of the red fiber I’ve been working on sporadically.

img_6818

There was also a yarn sale at Little Knits that resulted in a bit of stash enhancement in the sock yarn category.

img_6838

That is pretty much it on the crafting side of life.  No finishes, just some baby steps further down the road.

One more picture to share – the kids went back and forth on whether they were too old to go trick-or-treating but the real outcome was never in any doubt. The lure of the sugar was too strong.

img_6835

In case there was any question, yes, I am definitely the kind of mom who steals candy to eat from her sleeping children.  No Snickers or peanut butter cup is safe from me.  They suspect, but have no proof.  😏

 

Leave a Reply

