Home » Quilts » Piecing backs

Piecing backs

Another wet and windy weekend – though nothing like the poor East Coast people are dealing with. Definitely sewing weather as we can’t be outside in all this wind, so I pulled out a couple quilt tops and started stash rummaging for suitable fabric for backings.

I like pieced backs for scrappy quilts and this first top is definitely scrappy.

image

The scrappy stars quilt is really bright and busy, so I chose calmer, lighter fabrics for the back, in much bigger cuts than the little 2 1/2″ squares of the front.

I pinned the quilt up on the wall, and then pinned various panels until I’d covered it completely.

img_6725

Then it was just a matter of slicing and sewing and it was very quickly finished.

img_6791

I used some of my favorite little houses fabric.  Makes me smile every time I look at it.

img_6790

Next up was a floral diamonds quilt top I made quite a while ago.

img_6805

I go back and forth on this one.  I think I like the pattern better than I like my fabric choices.  But it will be perfect for someone out there.

I didn’t have enough of any of the florals for the backing, and it would have really loud if I’d pieced all those florals together, so I ran out to the nearby fabric store and got enough yardage for the back in a single fabric.

Aside – wow, it is blustery out there!  I watched a tree hit by one gust crack in half and fall across the railroad tracks.  I didn’t have my phone but when I got to the store a minute later, I had the cashier call 911 to warn the police.  On my way home, there was a stopped Amtrak train and cops all over the place clearing the fallen branches.  I had to detour to get home because the train was stopped across several of the roads I would normally take.

Back to sewing – to get a wide enough cloth, I ironed one selvage under an inch and a half and then matched the edge to the other piece’s pattern, opening the fold and pinning it and then using the fold line as my sewing line.

Hampered only by my inability to sew a really straight line, it still came out pretty well. You can see the line in the picture below, but it will pretty much disappear in the quilting.

img_6802

That’s as far as I’m going to go today.  The spinning wheel is calling, and my niece and my mom are here for a visit.  But now I’ve got at least three quilts to take to the school’s wide tiled floors for pinning.  The WIPs are slowly moving along.

Leave a Reply

