Home » Quilts » Blue and black finish

Blue and black finish

image

A bit of binding . . .

and the quilt is done!

image

image

This was a Scrapitude mystery quilt, the second I’ve participated in.  I’m so pleased with the colors and the stash-busting.  And just as pleased to have one quilting project to check off the WIP list. The

I kept the binding  scrappy to match the rest of the quilt, and sewed it down by machine. I’m not a purest when it comes to binding, and since the quilting isn’t done by hand, I always figure it doesn’t matter if the binding is either.  And I think it is sturdier this way.  Not as polished on the back, but around here, hard wearing is more important than perfect.

I modified the pattern slightly, leaving out the sashing because I didn’t want the quilt to turn out as big as it would have.  I’m not sure of this one’s destination, but someone will come along who it will be perfect for.

It is in the dryer now, getting its crinkle.  I love a quilt just out of the dryer!

 

5 thoughts on “Blue and black finish

  1. Oh wow! that’s a pretty quilt! You have really put some work into this one. I can’t see myself sticking with such a detailed pattern that long. But it surely did pay off for you. It’s just stunning. I like a pieced back especially when it coordinates so well. Someone is going to cuddle and snuggle in lots of love!

    Like

    • I have a short attention span when it comes to sewing projects, but the mystery quilt sew-a-longs fit that perfectly because it is only a day or two of sewing each month, and then I can put it away and work on other projects until the next clue comes out. My attention span can handle a day or two of any project. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

