Home » Quilts » Scrap blobs

Scrap blobs

I really need to figure out a better name for this project.

It started on a day I was feeling uninspired by my current projects and the scraps were overflowing, so I created this block from my littlest scraps bin.

image

It is fun just playing randomly with a mess of scraps. And a real trip down memory lane of all the previous quilts that produced these scraps!

image

Weeks later, I made another one.

image

They hung in the closet for a long while.  Then when I made my WIP list, I started thinking about them again. But what they should become escaped me.

I sketched out a few possibilities.

image

My favorite of those was the middle one in the bottom row.  But I’d nearly finished a third blob by then, and it was going to be a bigger quilt than I wanted with that design. The blobs blocks are around 21-22″ and I want them to float apart, not be too crowded together.

image

 

So I think it will be a combo of the top drawing and that middle one.  No white blobs, but a flatter division between the top and bottom sections, with some baby blobs thrown in.

So far it looks like this:

image

It it doesn’t really show in the pictures, but the background fabric is also a mix of white-on-white and white-on-cream fabrics.

The sew-and-whack-and-sew randomness of the process makes a change from the precision of the Oceans quilt, so I’ll be going back and forth between the two for a while.

 

2 thoughts on “Scrap blobs

    • I almost hate to see the last piece of a fabric go – as long as I have an inch or two left, I have the reminder. Of course, that is what got me into this scrap mess in the first place, keeping every bit over an inch wide! After this quilt and the Oceans one, I’m going to make one with huge pieces of cloth, just to recover.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

