Home » Quilts » Some progress at last

Some progress at last

It has been rather hectic around here, and somehow posting on the blog fell by the wayside.  There hasn’t been a lot to post anyway, as crafting time has been scarce.

But today I finally had the house to myself – my husband pulled all the kid duty driving back and forth to sports and birthdays. The man knows I need the occasional day to myself to stay sane.  So there was sewing!

image

I finished the X block quilt top at last.  Over the last couple weeks in odd moments of time I added white around each block to make them 14″ square.  I also made four half blocks to fill in the ends of the staggered rows.  I added another white border all the way around, and then a randomly pieced border in the two reds to finish it off.

The photos required standing on a bucket in the driveway – the backyard was in shadow by the time I finished so it was the only sunshine left.  I really need to work on my photography one of these days.

image

I’m really pleased with how it turned out.  I love the vivid colors and the variety in the blocks.  Deciding how to quilt it is going to take some mulling.  I want the Xs to stand out, but the thought of outlining each of them is a little daunting.  That is a lot of twisting and turning bulky material through the machine harp!

I don’t have the backing fabric yet, so there is so time to think about it.  Two other quilt tops are in front of it in the quilting line as well.  But I’m happy to have another finished project to cross off the list.  Next up is the next mystery quilt clue, the last one in the QAL.

8 thoughts on “Some progress at last

  1. That’s going to be so beautiful!! What a lovely mix of color and composition. And hooray to your husband for helping you out so you had some sewing time.

    Like

    • It wasn’t until about halfway through the blocks that I realized I hadn’t come up with a plan beyond picking Xs and making a bunch of blocks. After that, as I finished a block I experimented with various layouts. But I do like the staggered effect I settled on.

      Like

Leave a Reply

