Home » Knitting » A sun break

A sun break

Spring Break!  No school for a week!

I left the school parking lot and went straight to the airport (well, after stopping to pick up my sister and some chocolate).

We are off to Arizona to visit my snowbird mom.  She lives up near us in the summer and in Surprise, Arizona, in the winter.

An airport sock is born:

img_5836-2

Leaving Oregon gave us some spectacular mountain views.  Mt. Hood:

img_5840

The festival seating on Southwest Airlines was new to me.  I didn’t know we were supposed to just sit anywhere, and then my sister and I debated in the aisle about the merits of bulkhead seating.  (She has very long legs, I needed my knitting and chocolate bag at my feet.) I used to be able to pick up and go to Asia or Africa with 10 minutes notice and now I can’t get down a plane aisle smoothly.  Skills deteriorate so rapidly.

A couple of other sisters traveling in nearby seats were fascinated by the double pointed needles knitting process.  I may have converted a crocheter to sock knitting in the course of the trip.

I woke this morning to the sounds of quail scratching in the rocks and doves cooing.  I’m sitting in a sun beam by the patio fountain sipping fake-fresh-squeezed orange juice (Mom’s orange trees  didn’t do well this winter so she had to buy the juice we demand on arrival).

My sock is enjoying the new surroundings too:

img_5841

Hedgerow socks pattern by Jane Cochran in some sock yarn I can’t remember the name of that I dyed purple.  I can’t escape purple.

Sock one can be seen here.  It has been waiting a long time for its mate.

 

One thought on “A sun break

Leave a Reply

