Home » Quilts » Purple floral, finished

Purple floral, finished

Done at long last.

This quilt started quite some time ago – last May! – with a mystery box of fabric from Free Spirit, through Craftsy. There were a lot of pinks and purples in the box, and then I added in some Kaffee dots and ombrés, some navy for sashing, and suddenly I had a tremendously girly quilt top.  And two sons who like nerf guns, not flowers.  Oh well, I will find someone to give or sell it to.

My helpers held it over the deck rail for me, but it was a bit shady.  The upper pic in the evening light is a more accurate color.

I like the angled corners.

I top stitched all the sashing edges in navy thread on the front, purple on the back, and then did free motion loops in all the large squares, changing the top thread to match the squares’ fabrics.


One helper is peeking out there.  Note the enthusiasm at helping Mom with yet another sewing photo.

Now it just needs its bath to bring out the crinkles.  I love the look and feel of quilts fresh from the dryer.

More about the making of this quilt here, here, and here.

6 thoughts on “Purple floral, finished

Leave a Reply

