Home » Spinning » Bubble crepe

Bubble crepe

image

I finished my latest spin.  Two yak silk blend singles – one a cream 50/50 yak and silk, one a grey 60/20/20 merino, yak and silk.  Both were butter smooth and cloud soft.

The singles were over spun in areas, because I haven’t yet slowed my treadling enough for thicker singles.  I’m used to treadling as fast as I can for very thin singles due to my lace weight spinning/knitting years.  But it works out because I take out a lot of twist when I’m plying.

It now is hanging on a towel rack over a heater vent drying after its wet finish.  I think it is going to be a cowl/hat combo in its next stage. Something simple to take advantage of its uneven texture.  I’m very pleased with the end result.

What does this have to do with bubble crepe you ask?

Next step after finishing one project is looking for the next.  I went burrowing into the dresser where I keep most of my fiber, looking for inspiration.  In addition to way more fiber than I want to think about, I found an almost finished cowl project that got mixed in and lost at some point.  I will finish it up tonight, as it just needs to be bound off.

img_5662

The yarn is a bubble crepe that I spun long ago. I love cabled yarn, and this is a three ply variation. Two singles of very different thicknesses are plied together and then a third single spun in the opposite direction. Because two of the singles are thinner, when they are all wrapped together the thick, soft single gets bumpy.

I think it is a perfect type of yarn for angora blends, keeping the flyaway fiber partly contained without losing the softness. In this case I wrapped an undyed lamb’s wool/angora blend with purple merino singles.

Several years ago when we lived in Washington I was a member of the Snohomish spinning guild.  A guest speaker, Sarah Anderson, came and brought the many spinning samples she had been making for the spinning book she was about to publish. I was fascinated by the bubble crepe and have since made it several times.

I also bought the book when it came out.  I recommend it highly!  All sorts of intriguing recipes for many, many yarns.  I’ve barely begun to sample them, but I dream over some of the more complicated yarns and vow that someday I will try them.

Her bubble crepe is much bubblier (and even) than mine.  I will try again.

Oh, and the choice in my stash dive – this grey top that I long ago over dyed an uneven red.  I spun one bobbin of this long ago and then got tired of red.  Time to spin up some more of it.

image

4 thoughts on “Bubble crepe

Leave a Reply

