Home » Family » An unusually full day

An unusually full day

A lot of very varied activities packed into today.

The adults in the house were woken up this morning with the resumption of last night’s ferocious nerf gun war in the basement.  My ten year old had a sleep over last night and we are all exhausted as a resuIt. (I’m strictly forbidden to call in a slumber party.  Apparently that is a horror reserved for girls. Nothing like a macho sleep over.)

The warriors temporarily calmed by waffles:

image

From the ruins of my war torn home, I moved on to my monthly mystery book club.  We were in absolutely unanimous agreement that this month’s book was a combination of boring, sexist, annoying and pretentious and generally one of the worst books we’ve read.  We were astounded that it got good recommendations online, much less published.  But despite the pain of reading it to its very unsatisfying ending, we had a great time trashing it over a tasty lunch.  This month we were at my friend Leslie’s, who is also one of my fiber friends.  Take a look at this corner of her entryway:

image

This is just the blue and purple part of her stash!

Next stop after the book club lunch was . . . another lunch.  February 20 is the anniversary of our oldest son’s adoption.  We always go out for Chinese food and retell the stories of meeting him for the first time and all our adventures in Taiwan.  While we eat, he and his brother love to hear about meals in Taiwan – his obsession with jam packets, how messy it was to feed him with chopsticks when we were out touring, that there were green peas on the pizza and snakes being barbecued at the night markets.

Back at the house, the kids finally tired enough to be happy with quiet activities, I settled down at the sewing machine and finally finished my scrappy star quilt top.  Lots of partial seams required to Tetris the odd shaped blocks together.  With a lot more planning, or more regularly spaced stars, it would have gone together faster, but I rather enjoy the puzzle-like aspect of the sewing.

imageimageimage

It all came together and now joins the growing stack of tops that await the time when I finally get the craft room organized enough that the sewing table is cleared for quilting.  It may be awhile.

image

 

8 thoughts on “An unusually full day

  1. How special that you celebrate your son’s adoption day. It’s a family celebration that will always remind him of how much he is loved. Those boys around the table has me longing for the days when our house was a noisy mess. We had three boys close in age, so for a few years life was a blur of sports, dirt, “camping,” and other boy activities.

    I’m curious about the size of those squares in the scrappy star top. They close up have the squares looking sort of big, but the pic of the whole quilt really puts it in perspective. Love it!

    Like

    • The squares are 2 1/2″ each. The width of one of my rulers, school made the measuring wicker, plus it let me use the remnants of some strips I had as well.

      Before we adopted the boys, I had no idea how many plastic nerf guns I would have in my life, or how many Legos it takes to keep them momentarily satisfied!

      Like

    • This was only our second, but we were much better prepared this time. Last time my husband and I had this wild idea that they would all sit and watch a movie while watching pizza and then go to bed at a later-but-still-reasonable time. This time we had no illusions of sleep. 🙂

      Like

  2. Wow! Your quilt is beautiful. I love the tiny pieces and the stars! Your friends fiber stash is wonderful!! Hope you read a good book next month – I feel the same way sometime about my book club 🙂 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

