Home » Family » Spinning

Spinning

While the boys destroyed the kitchen making chocolate chip cookies, I dragged out the spinning wheel, dusted it a bit, and tried to remember how I used to be fairly competent at making yarn.

Fiber glamour shot:

image

It is a polwarth/silk top that I kettle dyed.  I have another bundle that I dyed with the same greens but with a touch for orange in places.

I’ve gotten pretty consistent in spinning thin singles, but now I’m trying to relearn spinning thicker.  So far, my twist amount is all over the place, and it isn’t very consistent.  It is pigtailing some because I haven’t slowed down my treading enough, and it gets too thin in places.  But I’m still going to like the finished yarn.  I like somewhat thick and thin yarn – it makes interesting fabric when knitted or woven.

The first bobbin is the green with orange tints, and the second is the green with light sections.  Definitely over spun – see the curls?  But it will work itself out in the plying.

Meanwhile, the boys have discovered that it is a good idea to make sure the leftover pizza is out of the oven before preheating to bake cookies.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Spinning

  1. Lol, finding leftover pizza in an oven is something I would do! I have never tried to spin … Would love to try it someday.. Right now my house can only hold so many of things I want to do.😟😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

