Home » Knitting » Starting out right in 2016

Starting out right in 2016

A belated happy New Year to everyone!  We were away at our wifi-less cabin for a few days.  We came back today in the midst of both holiday traffic and a sudden unexpected winter blast of snow and freezing rain.  My district has already declared tomorrow a snow day!  To the despair of my sons, their district is so far opening on time.  My joy at the possibility of a childless day at home is deep.  🙂

It has been a smorgasbord of crafts during the beginning of 2016.  I got started in the quilting of my older son’s night sky quilt, warped a scarf on the rigid heddle loom, and dug out the cotton for some kitchen knitting.

My basement floor no longer has room to pin a quilt after my sister dropped off a piano this summer, so we went last week to her school where she organized her classroom and I pinned a couple of quilts.

My knees and fingers were only good for two quilts worth of pins, plus my boys’ patience ran out at that point.  But that gives me a start on the pile of tops.

The kitchen wash cloths were looking pretty grungy, so I pulled out my cones of cotton and made a few more in simple seed stitch patterns.  They are a little uneven but that’s not very important in a cloth destined for scrubbing around oven burners, and they tighten up when they are washed.

I also packed the loom and warped it for a scarf while we were at the cabin.

All went smoothly until I looked for the stick shuttle to start actually weaving and realized I hadn’t packed one.  I made one out of folded cardboard but it wasn’t very stable and bent a lot, making it a very slow process.  But now we are home and the shuttles are at hand so it will move faster.

 

image

I used a Crazy Zauberball yarn for the warp – it has long bi-colored color changes creating stripes.  The weft is a green lace weight alpaca yarn (Misti alpaca) doubled.  Still trying to use up stash yarns, though I have to admit the Zauberball is a fairly recent purchase.

So a lot of different crafts to start out the year.  Starting as I mean to go on!

Ironically, spinning wasn’t one of them, though that is on the top of my crafting resolution list – to spin more regularly in 2016.  I love it when I’m doing it, but have just not turned to the wheel very often.

My resolution list is shortish and project based. More spinning.  Doing more home improvement sewing like runners for bureaus, covers for the living room chairs, and wall hangings for a few bare walls.  I’m also going to finally refinish the dining room tabletop and stain the unfinished dresser.  And a biggie – have the kitchen remodeled! The only really personal improvement is to establish a regular walking routine.  I need more movement.

Now that I reread that list, it isn’t very short.  But I have a whole year to accomplish it all, and I think it is doable.

I hope everyone is having a happy, safe, and fiber filled start to the new year.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

