Home » Friends » Crafting at the coast

Crafting at the coast

This weekend was a long planned crafting weekend at the cabin.  A lot didn’t go as planned.  My husband’s new job erupted with emergencies, meaning he had to work late on Friday and on Saturday.  Luckily, Grandma stepped in to kid watch.  Then my sister got sick and couldn’t drive up on Friday with me.  Sort of creepy to arrive after dark at the cabin lot – no street lights there!  One of the two friends who was arriving Saturday also got sick, so our retreat of four became a retreat of two.

But it was very crafty anyway!  I finished my silk mohair shawl, despite running out of yarn half way through the edging chart.  It goes on the blocking pile (with too many others – must do a lot of blocking soon!)

Mohair silk Nypon shawl

There was a lot of spinning, Paige on her Ashford Joy, me on my Kromski Sonata wheel.

Spinning at cabin image I finished the last of a green and blue merino I’ve been spinning occasionally. I’m trying to relearn spinning thicker singles after years of spinning thinner and thinner yarns. This one was going to be a two ply, but I decided I wanted to blend the colors more and have a bulkier yarn, so I sent each two ply through again adding lots of extra twist, and then plied the two together to end up with a four ply crepe yarn. I love the texture and look of the resulting yarn!image image I started a new pile of green polwarth and silk yarn next, again trying for thicker singles.  There are actually two different dye jobs in that pile, one with a lot more variation in shades, but the plan is to ply them together.  Still sticking with the green theme of my recent yarn work, obviously.

Paige’s yarn had a green tint as well, but a lot of other colors too.  I really envy the huge bobbins on her wheel.

Paige spinning at cabin

There was other knitting in addition to my shawl.  Paige continues to work on her socks of many colors:

Paige's socks of many colors

Paige's sock yarn

And I started a simple pair of garter stitch slippers with some leftover handspun, though I haven’t quite figured out how this rectangle is going to become a foot shaped slipper.  I’m going on faith and following the row by row directions.

Knit slippers

When not spinning or knitting socks, Paige also worked on fingerless mittens that she sells, along with the socks, at a holiday craft fair.

Paige's mitten in progress

There was also pizza, and catching up on family and friend news, and quilting talk, and a lot of needed sleep, and generally a really good time bookmarked (pun alert) by a weird but engrossing audio book that I listened to in the cars during the hours there and back.  If you aren’t squeamish, I can highly recommend Stiff by Mary Roach, the history of cadavers.

I’m back home now, in the storm of chaos we call bedtime, happy to be back with my family, but also really ready to get the next fiber retreat on the calendar.

Leave a Reply

