Home » Knitting » A green theme

A green theme

Maybe because briefly the rains came back before the heat deepened again, but I’ve been on a bit of a green kick the last week or two.

The trees for the Night Sky quilt are coming along slowly, with pieces coming together in weird partial seam combinations when I have a minute to add to it.

Night sky trees in progress

The process is a messy one!

Green tree scraps

Green tree scraps

There was also a burst of knitting when I wasn’t somewhere that sewing was possible.  And without intending it, all of it green.

I finished one home spun cowl –

Handspun cowl - green

Started another –

Handspun cowl 2 a green

And then when I left that cowl in progress at school, I started a third.

Green cowl with combined lace

The first two are knit from the same fiber spun two different ways.  Cowl #1 is a two ply.  I had planned on making it very wide, but it turned out that what I thought were additional skeins were the same hand dyed fiber, but I’d spun it into a three ply yarn.  So those two skeins became a new cowl.

The third cowl I’m combining yarn.  I have a lot of lace and light fingering weight yarns from my obsessive lace knitting days, so I’ve decided that I’ll combine various skeins to make the bulkier knitting projects I’m in the mood for now.

After all these are finished I’ll need a burst of fuchsia or lemon yellow to recover from all the green!

Leave a Reply

