Home » Quilts » Trees

Trees

Yesterday I took a break from the blues of the night sky and started the trees that will be at the bottom of the quilt.  Lots and lots of flying geese are going to make up the bulk of this dark forest.

Night sky quilt - greens

I’m using my EZ Flying Geese ruler, cutting 2″ and 2 1/2″ strips.  The geese/trees are all going to be solids with mixed fabric backgrounds.  I’ll fill in all the holes with patchwork, and then curve the forested hills into the night sky.

Green flying geese trees

Green flying geese trees

Green saying geese trees

Green flying geese trees

I’m about half way done with the trees.  I used leftover Kaffe shot cottons and some almost solids for the trees and all the darker greens that I had in my stash and bought last week for the backgrounds.  A couple of the lighter acid greens didn’t make the cut as I want to keep the tones dark and subdued for the most part.  It is a night forest after all.

The slight variation in tree sizes also gives it a little more depth, and it will make more patchwork to even up the block widths when I’m sewing it all together.  I also varied the height of the trees from three to five triangles high.

Leave a Reply

