Home » Family » Perhaps not my smartest idea

Perhaps not my smartest idea

It hit 102 degrees here yesterday.  Around here, that is about as extreme as it gets (at least until this afternoon which is supposed to be worse.  Seriously Portland, what are you thinking with this heat?! You’re in the PNW!  Stop the madness!) So, I thought it would be a good idea to do some pin basting outside.  Not my smartest heat wave activity choice.

Pin basting A's quilt

I don’t have a big enough floor area to spread out a quilt of this size indoors, so the driveway was really the only option until I get some folding tables,  I swept away stray leaves and pebbles, got the gardening knee pad, and set in.  A large sun hat helped, and so did starting in the sunny part so I could move back to the shade.  But I’m pretty sure my neighbors think I’m crazy.  Hard to disagree.

A's quilt - pin basted

I put all the pins in colored squares as I’m going to keep the quilting to the gray areas.  Still mulling the exact plan.

I’m so intimidated to start quilting this behemoth.  Will the Juki’s harp and my dining room table be up to it?  We’ll find out today when I get started.

While I pinned, my sister and my youngest worked on Dr. Seuss frames she is making for her special ed classroom.  She is going to paint them in wild, Seussian colors and hang student art in them.

Dr. Seuss frame

Meanwhile, the cat coped by strategically utilizing her own sun hat.

Cat and sun hat

Leave a Reply

