Home » Quilts » Bits and pieces

Bits and pieces

It has been a little hectic around the house the last couple of days.  My sister, who has lived with us the past year, went back to Mississippi last month to pack up her family and household.  Sunday night she, her husband, and two of their three kids arrived with a 27′ rental truck, two French bulldogs, and a cat.  It rapidly got very crowded around here.  But in a good way!  The apartment hunting has already begun, but we are enjoying them in the meantime.

I have squeezed in a little sewing nonetheless.  The backing for my cousin’s quilt is completed.  There was quite a lot of seam ripping, a function of not having quite as much fabric as I needed in length, and changing my mind in mid stream about how I wanted to solve that.

I couldn’t get a good picture of it.  Too large for the iPad camera.  But here are some awkward shots.

The first attempt had strips at the top and a wide blue border on one side. I decided it looked unbalanced and needed to be wider, so I added a blue border on the opposite side later.

The first attempt has strips at the top and a wide blue border on one side.  I decided it looked unbalanced and needed to be wider, so I added a blue border on the opposite side later.

(The top, in the background, will also have borders, but I’m adding them later to reduce the bulk I will be wrestling through my machine.)

Adding an additional side border to the back made the strips on the top too short, but I had only inches left of most of the fabrics so I added in a four patch block.

Adding an additional side border made the strips on the top too short, but I had only inches left of most of the fabrics so I added in a four patch block.

I’ve asked my cousin to see if she can get another yard of the dark blue that is going into one of the front borders and I’ll use that for the binding if she can. Otherwise I will need to head to the fabric store again.  I don’t have enough left of anything for a border.

Other than that, not a lot accomplished, fiberwise.  But I did go with my sister to a very cool crafting store this morning.  Scrap is a shop of recycled materials, anything that someone might find useful for artistic pursuits.  There is yarn and paper, but also empty thread spools and plastic bits and tubes and fabric remnants and old cards.  It is a lot of fun, and the stock is constantly changing.  This time I found some possibly rayon yarn, some big spools of thread, and black and white fat quarters, among other things.  I came home and immediately made a few more paper pieced hexagons for a mini quilt I’m building up.  Every black and white fabric I come across loses a corner for this.  I think I’ve almost got enough.

Black and white hexagons

Leave a Reply

