Home » Family » A sewing pause

A sewing pause

There has been no more progress on the geese – I took a break to help my mom move out of my basement where she has been camping in my son’s lower bunk bed and into her new condo.

My mom is a snow bird, in Arizona in the winter and in the PNW in the summer.  Last year she sold her condo in Seattle so she could move closer to us.  But by the time the condo sold, it was nearly fall and she was worn out by the whole process, and decided not to hunt for a new place until this summer.  We put all her stuff in storage and she went off to play pickleball in the desert sun.

This summer, after a lot of hunting in two states, she found a condo just over the river in Washington. I wish she was a little closer, but I can drive by on my way home from work fairly easily, and my sister (who has been living in the other son’s room) plans to be on the same town when she moves at the end of the summer.

Anyway, moving yesterday, unpacking today, and no geese before the sewing room got too hot each evening.  But I did get the heel turned on my Hedgerow sock.

Hedgerow sock in progress

Pattern modifications so far – reduced to 60 stitches, changed heel flap to eye of partridge for additional wear protection.

Leave a Reply

