Home » Quilts » Flying along

Flying along

My flying geese quilt top is progressing despite the heat driving me out of the sewing room fairly early in the day.  I’ve gone from this:

Flying geese started

To this:

Flying geese in progress

And ended up up today with this:

Flying geese in progress

I changed up the fabric after cutting far too many squares of the other prints.  The colors were right, but the patterns didn’t go well together – I was combining Valerie Wells’ Quill fabrics with Kaffe Fassett dots and whatever the millefiori spots are called.  I kept the dots, got rid of the millefiori, dug out more Quill prints, and added in a couple of other fat quarter prints I had on hand that blended better.  I also ordered a few more half yards of Quill prints and I’ll go by Fabric Depot tomorrow and pick them up.  I was especially happy because they were on clearance!

I’ll have some rearranging to do to mix up directions and colors when I finish all the blocks, but so far it is looking just like I envisioned it.  And I’m getting a lot of practice at cutting and sewing to preserve the geese points.  There is drastic improvement since the first blocks went together.

Leave a Reply

