Home » Embroidery » Melting

Melting

We came back to Oregon just in time for a major heat wave!  It is supposed to be in the low 100s today and has been in the 90s for several days.  And the ten day forecast shows the same level of temps for the foreseeable future!  In a house without air conditioning, this is not fun.  I’m used to maybe a week or two of weather this hot in August, so we are not enjoying it.  Wilting children are lying about moaning, and the parents and grandparent aren’t much better.

How do people on the eastern part of the state cope with this so regularly?!

My post trip plans were all about quilting, but the sewing room is upstairs, which is a good 20 degrees warmer than the basement. So I’ve done a little sewing in the morning before things get too warm, and then abandon the machine for more portable projects.

Scrapitude quilt borders

I finished assembling the blocks for the Scrapitude quilt and got the narrow and widest of the borders on.  There will be one more medium width dark blue one to finish off the top, but that will have to be done on another cooler morning.  A lot more ironing needed as well, but that additional heat was what drove me out of the room.

Running stitch circles

Hedgerow sock in progress

I’ve also added a few circles to my second running stitch pillow cover, and I’m making some progress on the Hedgerow sock that I had for plane knitting on the trip.

But I’m frustrated because I want to be finishing quilts!

Leave a Reply

