Home » Knitting » A brief detour

A brief detour

There has been little to no crafting in the last couple of weeks.  Finals and essay grading played havock with my free time, though I did get the Scrapitude quilt sashing done and I’ve started to sew together the blocks.

But it then even that minimal progress was interrupted by a planned-but-not-prepared trip to New York.  We abandoned the children to Grandma’s loving care and headed with friends to the airport the day after school got out.  Since then, we’ve been hoofing it around the city and the only fiber activity has been about two inches of sock knitting that I did on the plane.

Though I did find a yarn store in Manhattan and bought my trip souvenir.

New York yarn purchase

A skein of Tosh merino light in Vanilla Bean (On the right)  and Maiden Hair silk & mohair yarn.

There was supposed to be more fiber craft pics as today my plan was to spend a lot of time at the Folk Arts Museum, but to my first puzzlement and then disappointment, the eight story museum building was torn down by the MoMA people to expand their building, and the folk arts are now a three room squeeze in a corner of a nearby Mormon temple.  All the many crafts have disappeared somewhere and they only have a single rotating exhibit at a time.

I did not take this well.  There were sad exclamations, and curb kicking, and trash talking of modern art.

And honestly, having visited MoMA the day before, I do not GET modern art.

image

Yoko Ono exhibit

 

I believe that Yoko Ono has been perpetuating an elaborate hoax for decades and is secretly laughing at museum visitors.  It is the only explanation I could come up with for pages and pages of little typed squares like this:

Yoko Ono exhibit

 

So, not a fan.  Probably just uneducated, but still, not a fan.

Since this is a crafting blog, I’ll get back on topic and share part of a really interesting exhibit at the Metropolitan Museum of Art I was a fan of.  It involves cloth and sewing, so it counts.  They have a show called China Through the Looking Glass about how Western culture has borrowed from Chinese culture, usually without really understanding it.  In one of the rooms, I inspired by blue and white china like this:

China plate

there were dresses like this:

China blue and white dress

 

Broken China dressChina blue and white dress

 

Between the the dramatic outfits scattered through the many rooms and the Chinese embroidery, I was slightly reconciled to the loss of the Folk Arts Museum.

Well, no.  I’m still really disappointed and a little pouty. But it was a good museum visit if I had to make a substitution.

 

Leave a Reply

