Home » Quilts » Scraps of rich loveliness

Scraps of rich loveliness

My sister, who is crafty but prefers paint and paper and glue to sewing machines and yarn, gave me a box of fabric scraps that she has had for a while.  She moved here – really here, to my basement – a year ago, driving from the Gulf Coast in an old sedan packed to the roof with boxes of crafting supplies.  She pulled these fabric bits out for me to do something, anything, with.

Upholstery scraps

They are fabulous!  Canvases and taffetas and velvets.  The smallest are ~2 1/2″ x 4″ and the largest are maybe 6″ x 6″.  I sorted out the neutral toned pieces, which is most of them, and I’ve been making improv blocks and then piecing those together.

Upholstery scraps

The photos do not do the contrasting textures justice.

Upholstery improv blocks

I’m a little stuck now, though, because I can’t decide where to go with them from here.  I thought maybe a rug, or a runner.  Maybe pillow covers?  It doesn’t really fit my house decor, but I love it so much that I may have to change a room somewhere to go with it.  Inspiration will come to me.

Leave a Reply

