Home » Quilts » Saving the table from the children

Saving the table from the children

My kids are young and not the tidiest eaters.  A lot of table clothes and placemats have been left stained and coated in their wake.  So today I replenished the supply a bit with a visit to the scrap bin.

Scrap bin

Lots of cutting (and unfortunately, recutting when I got my measurements wrong for the backing).

Placemat cutting and trimming

I used a quilt-as-you-go technique as I didn’t want binding on these.  Loops in the dark blue areas and wavy gray lines in the scrappy columns. Then I sewed the backs to the fronts, right sides together, flipped them inside out, and stitched around the edges.

Quilting placematsAnd we have four new placemats to save the table and tablecloths from the depredations of my splashy eaters.

Finished placemats

Leave a Reply

