Home » Quilts » Scrappy coins

Scrappy coins

I got a commission through my Etsy store this week and have gotten started piecing the top.  It is a coin quilt, a great way to use a lot of colorful fabrics.  I pulled from my scrap bin as well as the more organized fat quarters and large scraps to make the stacks of strips.

My customer had seen this quilt in the shop and wants one like it but with black sashing.

Coin quilt - white sashing

So I have been cutting varying widths of strips and sewing them into stacks for the past couple days.  If I was using width of fabric strips, or even whole fat quarters I could do this more quickly because I could cut more than one stack from the sewn together strips.  But then I wouldn’t have either the variety of fabrics or the mix – the column stacks would all be in the same order.  So I went with the slower but more mixed multitude method.

Cutting strips

After sewing them together, I press and then trim them to the right width.  Long tails that get cut off are added back into the pile for the next column.Coin quilt - sewn stripsI have four of the columns done and will sew the fifth tonight and it will be ready for the sashing.  The back and the quilting will have to wait a couple weeks because we leave for our family vacation in Israel on Thursday!

Coin quilt - completed stacks

Leave a Reply

