Home » Quilts » Sunny fabric for a gray day

Sunny fabric for a gray day

We have definitely entered the rainy season around here, and won’t likely leave it for more than a day or two for some time to come. Which makes me reach for the brighter projects to work on.

This baby blanket top has been hanging around a few weeks. I cut the triangles from fat quarters I got from a Craftsy sale. I bought the 50 fat quarter box of Free Spirit prints. This is my second time buying this box. I was a little disappointed this time. The fabric prints are great, but I wasn’t expecting to get two of each. So instead of 50 different prints, I got 25. Not as helpful in adding to my scrappy quilt options as I’d hoped. The first time I ordered the box there were 50 different prints, so I guess it can go either way.

But I do like the fabrics choices I did get, and used 12 of them in this little quilt, adding in some coordinating solids. I echo quilted the seams on either side so the triangle pattern shows up on the back too.

The quilt back has a scrappy stripe with leftovers and a soft yellow polka dot. Perfect colors to offset the dreary day outside!

Usually I hand sew the binding to the back after it is attached, but because baby quilts tend to get washed a lot more often, I machine sewed it this time so it is extra security and can hold up to the machine turbulence. And the sunny gold continued the warmer days theme.

This one is going into my Etsy shop as soon as I can get some decent finished shots. (And after it’s first trip through the washing machine.) I just need a brief break in the rain!

Leave a Reply

