Home » Quilts » On the road

On the road

This is one of my favorite quilts that I’ve made.  I like so much about it – the combination of four patch and half square triangles.  The fabric.  The colors.  The size, which is perfect for couch napping.

The top was made with a layer cake and a charm pack of the fabric line Road 15 by Sweetwater for Moda.  I bought Kona solids in matching colors and started to slice.  I used almost every scrap of the fabric, cutting the final square blocks to 8 1/2 inches.

The backing fabric was a great green and white houses design.  I didn’t have quite enough, so I added some additional Road 15 yardage, and bought some crosshatched deep red fabric for the binding.

This is the third project I’ve made with Road 15.  I sewed a Go Anywhere bag from a Noodlehead pattern and a matching ipad cover from the red houses print, which is my favorite of the favorites.  Something about those little houses just really appeals to me.  I have additional yardage of it to play with in the future.

Edit this

Leave a Reply

