Home » Sewing » Improved ironing – a fast DIY

Improved ironing – a fast DIY

I don’t use an ironing board when I do my quilting – at least not the traditional long, narrow, collapsible type. There just isn’t enough surface space. So I made my own. The first one was a 2 x 2 square, which was just the right she for my sewing table top, and very portable, but too short for sewing long seams. And if I put my little cutting board on it, there wasn’t much ironing room left.

Cutting board on ironing surface

So today I made a new, larger board.

Cutting board

This one is 2 x 4 – a lot less portable, but definitely a lot more ironing surface.

These are really easy to make if you have a staple gun. I got my board at Home Depot. They sell both the 2 x 2 and 2 x 4 sizes precut. The only other materials I needed were all cotton batting and a heavy cotton fabric. I used a printed canvas floral.

Then it is just layering, folding, and stapling. The board is the smallest element, then the batting, and the outer fabric the largest to wrap around all the rest.

Iron board in progress - layers

I cut off the fabric and batting in triangles at the corners to make it less bulky and folded it like wrapping a present. Making the batting smaller than the outer fabric meant I could fold the edges of the fabric over the batting and staple it under, so there were no raw edges to worry about.

My plan is to get a cart for the sewing room and place this on top so I can move it around to where I need it, depending on the type of project. For now, it works really well on the dining room table. I can iron longer pieces or iron and cut smaller pieces without having to move everything.

Leave a Reply

